Troy nursing accreditation and approval, program by program
Troy University's ASN, BSN, MSN with its post-master's certificates, and DNP are accredited by ACEN, and the MSN and DNP hold continuing accreditation from spring 2024 to spring 2032. The university as a whole is accredited by SACSCOC. Troy states Alabama Board of Nursing approval for the ASN, BSN and Accelerated MSN only.
Studying in an accredited Troy program?
Tell us your program and next clinical course. We find preceptors who fit Troy's rules.

Three bodies, three different jobs
Questions about Troy nursing accreditation involve three separate bodies. ACEN, the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing, accredits nursing programs. SACSCOC, the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges, accredits Troy University as an institution. The Alabama Board of Nursing approves nursing programs in the state and licenses the nurses who graduate from them.
Each answers a different question. ACEN speaks to the quality of a specific nursing program, SACSCOC to the university as a whole, and the board to a program's standing with the state that licenses nurses. Troy's Accreditation and Approval page, published by the School of Nursing in the College of Health Sciences, sets out all three, and it lists the ASN, BSN, MSN and DNP under ACEN.
Knowing which body covers what helps when an employer, a licensing board or a preceptor's practice asks about your program: you can point to the right statement instead of a general claim.
ACEN accreditation by program
Troy's Accreditation and Approval page lists the most recent ACEN decision for each accredited program as Continuing Accreditation and scopes each program to specific campuses.
| Program | ACEN status | Campuses in scope | ABN approval stated |
|---|---|---|---|
| ASN | Accredited; most recent decision Continuing Accreditation | Montgomery | Yes |
| BSN | Accredited; most recent decision Continuing Accreditation | Troy and Dothan | Yes |
| MSN and post-master's certificates | Continuing accreditation, spring 2024 to spring 2032 | Dothan, Montgomery and Troy | Not stated |
| DNP | First accredited 2011; continuing accreditation, spring 2024 to spring 2032 | Dothan, Montgomery and Troy | Not stated |
| Accelerated MSN (Dothan) | Not listed on its own; ask the School of Nursing | Dothan (program location) | Yes |
The eight-year term for the MSN and DNP comes from the Accreditation and History section of the MSN Student Orientation Manual, which also dates the DNP's first ACEN accreditation to 2011. The Accelerated MSN launched in August 2026, so ask the School of Nursing how it sits within the master's accreditation if you need that in writing.
Alabama Board of Nursing approval: stated for three programs
Troy's Accreditation and Approval page says the ASN, BSN and Accelerated MSN are approved by the Alabama Board of Nursing. All three are pre-licensure programs that lead to the NCLEX-RN. The page does not state board approval for the MSN FNP track or the DNP, and the RN to BSN program page describes the school as recognized by the board.
Alabama's rule for advanced practice nursing programs, Alabama Administrative Code 610-X-3-.05, treats programs operating before December 31, 2020 as approved and requires prior approval for programs started on or after January 1, 2021. If an employer, a board in another state or a certification body asks for a statement of board approval for a Troy graduate program, request it from the School of Nursing so you have Troy's own wording.
After graduation, the Alabama Board of Nursing asks CRNP applicants for an official transcript from a master's-or-higher NP program it recognizes. The steps that follow are on our Alabama CRNP page.
Where Troy's accreditation statements disagree
Troy's documents describe the campuses behind its accreditation in more than one way. Neither difference changes a program's ACEN status, but both can matter when a form asks you to name the campus or location of your program.
- Graduate programs: the Accreditation and Approval page scopes the MSN, post-master's certificates and DNP to Dothan, Montgomery and Troy. The 2025-26 Graduate Catalog's ACEN statements for the same programs add Phenix City, and the DNP manual also lists Phenix City as a faculty base.
- Baccalaureate program: the Accreditation and Approval page lists the BSN at Troy and Dothan, while the RN to BSN manual says the baccalaureate program is accredited at Troy, Dothan and Montgomery.
For anything official, such as a license application, an employer verification or a certification file, cite the Accreditation and Approval page and ask the School of Nursing for its current statement. The campuses and online guide explains the other places Troy's campus lists differ.
Why accreditation comes up in clinical placement
A practice deciding whether to host a student may ask whether the program is accredited, and a clear answer helps the conversation move on to schedules and objectives. Accreditation also sits behind state rules on clinicals. Alabama's rule for out-of-state programs placing students in Alabama, 610-X-3-.09, requires national nursing accreditation and full approval in the home state, and Alabama's distance-education rule expects Alabama distance APRN programs to be board-approved and nationally accredited.
Other states set their own conditions for programs based elsewhere. Accreditation belongs to the program wherever you study, but whether Troy can offer clinicals in your state is a separate question answered by state authorization and Troy's clinicals-by-state table. Check both before you enroll, and again before you move.
What we bring to a preceptor conversation
Troy students choose us because we arrive at a practice with the answers a preceptor needs. Along with everything Troy's preceptor paperwork asks for, we share Troy's own accreditation facts, the course and its hours, and what Troy expects of a preceptor, so the practice can decide quickly and the conversation turns to scheduling.
We recruit close to home, away from your own work setting, and tell you at the outset if a practice lacks a Troy contract. The approval decision stays with Troy faculty; we see that the preceptor file they receive needs no follow-up. Our process page shows each step, and the form below starts yours.
Questions Troy students ask
Is Troy's FNP program accredited?
Yes. Troy's MSN, which includes the FNP track and the post-master's certificates, is accredited by ACEN, with continuing accreditation running from spring 2024 to spring 2032 according to the MSN Student Orientation Manual. The DNP, including its post-BSN FNP track, holds the same term and was first accredited by ACEN in 2011.
Is Troy nursing accredited by CCNE or ACEN?
ACEN. Troy's Accreditation and Approval page lists the ASN, BSN, MSN with post-master's certificates, and DNP under ACEN and names no second nursing accreditor. The university as a whole is accredited by SACSCOC, and the Alabama Board of Nursing approval Troy states covers the ASN, BSN and Accelerated MSN.
Can I sit for the FNP certification exam after Troy's program?
Graduates can apply to sit for the national FNP certification exam, according to Troy's MSN page. Troy's pages do not name the certifying body, so check the current eligibility rules of the certification body you choose, and ask the School of Nursing early for any program documents it will need to verify.
When does Troy's ACEN accreditation run out?
For the MSN and DNP, the current term of continuing accreditation runs to spring 2032, per the MSN Student Orientation Manual. Troy lists Continuing Accreditation as the most recent decision for the ASN and BSN as well, without printing their term dates beside it, so ask the School of Nursing if you need those dates.
Does Troy's accreditation help me do clinicals in another state?
It is one condition among several. Alabama, for example, requires national accreditation of out-of-state programs that place students there, and other boards set their own rules. Troy's ability to offer clinicals in a state also depends on state authorization. Troy's 2020 disclosure lists the status by state; confirm yours with Troy's Coordinator of State Authorizations and its Clinical Placements Specialist.
Related pages
Last checked 2026-09-27
We check these pages against Troy's own 2026-27 MSN, DNP, AMSN and RN to BSN orientation manuals, program pages, degree maps and state authorization pages. Your faculty advisor, your course faculty and the School of Nursing have the final word.
Troy asks you to recruit your preceptor. We make that the easy part.
Tell us your Troy program, where you live and which semester your next clinical course starts. We find preceptors who meet Troy's rules for the course, check the setting against Troy's limits, and prepare everything the Preceptor Information Form and biosketch ask for, well ahead of the form deadline.
- Preceptors matched to the course: a graduate-prepared NP or physician for
NSG 6619, pediatrics and women's health forNSG 6666, adults and older adults forNSG 6668 - Preceptor Information Form details, a biosketch and a copy of the preceptor's license, ready for your faculty advisor
- In your own area, in Alabama or a state where Troy can offer clinicals, never in your own work setting
Start your placement plan
Program, city and semester is all we need to begin.